You are here

Faculty and Staff

James Albert
Professor

Lafayette Parish Medical Society Pre-Med Endowed Professor

Office : VLW 410
Office Phone : 337 482 6627
Lab : VLW 410
Lab Phone : 337 482 1045
E-mail : jalbert@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Phylogeny of Teleost Fishes, Fish Diversity and Biology

Pegge Alciatore
Assistant Department Head, Assistant Professor

Office : BLD 108
Office Phone : 337 482 5234
E-mail : palciatore@louisiana.edu
 

Penny Antley
Master Instructor, Microbiology and A&P Lab Coordinator

Office : VLW 417-A
Office Phone : 337 482 6634
E-mail : penny@louisiana.edu
 

Raymond Bauer
Professor Emeritus

Office : BLD 205-E
Office Phone : 337 482 6435
E-mail : rtbauer@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Crustacean Biology, Reproduction, and Evolution

Roy C. Brown
Professor Emeritus

Office : BLD 142
Office Phone : 337 482 6987
E-mail : rcb6459@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Plant Molecular Biology, Plant Microbe Interaction

Andrei Chistoserdov
Associate Professor

Office : VLW 526
Office Phone : 337 482 1330
Lab : VLW 505
Lab Phone : 337 482 5056
E-mail : ayc6160@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Microorganisms, Biogeochemistry and Environmental Processes

Caryl A. Chlan
Associate Professor

Ramon E. Billeaud/BORSF Memorial Professor

Office : VLW 510
Office Phone : 337 482 5916
Lab : VLW 516/404/519B
Lab Phone : 337 482 1069
E-mail : cchlan@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Plant Molecular Biology, Plant Microbe Interaction

Rachel Collin
Adjunct Faculty

Staff Scientist, Director of STRI's Bocas Del Toro Research Station

Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute
E-mail : collinr@si.edu

Area of Research:
Evolution of life history, genetics and evolutionary history of intertidal species

Lewis E. Deaton
Associate Professor

Office : BLD 244
Office Phone : 337 482 6549
Lab : BLD 240
E-mail : deaton@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Comparative Animal Physiology

Scott M. Duke-Sylvester
Associate Professor

Office : BLD 141
Office Phone : 337 482 5304
Lab : BLD 112
E-mail : dukesylvester@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Theoretical Ecology, Infectious Diseases

Don G. Ennis
Associate Professor

Office : VLW 520
Office Phone : 337 482 5008
Lab : VLW 522
Lab Phone : 337 482 1310
E-mail : don.ennis@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
DNA Repair, Intracellular Pathogens, Fish Models for Bacterial Pathogenesis and Carcinogenesis

Darryl L. Felder
Professor Emeritus

Office : BLD 251
Office Phone : 337 482 6753
Lab : BLD 227/228
Lab Phone : 337 482 5403
E-mail : dfelder@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Decapod Crustacean Diversity, Larval and Postlarval Development

Bruce E. Felgenhauer
Associate Professor

Dr. Glynn A. Granger BoRSF Professor of Pre-Medine

Office : BLD 235
Office Phone : 337 482 6636
Lab : BLD 247
Lab Phone : 337 482 5766
E-mail : bfelgenhauer@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Arthropod Adaptation, Functional Morphology

Scott C. France
Professor

Charles R. Godchaux/BoRSF Professor of Biology

Office : BLD 213
Office Phone : 337 482 6320
Lab : BLD 212/216
Lab Phone : 337 482 6494
E-mail : france@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Evolution of Deep-sea Corals and other Marine Invertebrates, Genetic Structure of Deep-sea Populations

Suzanne Fredericq
Professor

Freeport McMoran/LEQSF Regents Professor

Office : VLW 519-A
Office Phone : 337 482 1291
Lab : VLW 524
Lab Phone : 337 482 5057
E-mail : slf9209@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Systematics and Molecular Evolution of the Red Algae, Algal Morphology

Phyllis Baudoin Griffard
Instructor

Office : BLD 108-E
Office Phone : 337 482 6751
E-mail : phyllis@louisiana.edu
 

Area of Research:
Biology Education

Karl H. Hasenstein
Professor

Slemco/LEQSF Regents Professor of Science

Office : BLD 206
Office Phone : 337 482 6750
Lab : BLD 207, 203, 204
Lab Phone : 337 482 5199
E-mail : hasenstein@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Plant Physiology, Phytohormones, Plant Movements

Mark W. Hester
Professor

Fritz Lang/BoRSF Professor of Environmental Biology

Office : BLD 215
Office Phone : 337 482 5246
Lab : BLD 226, 214
Lab Phone : 337 482 5248
E-mail : mhester@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Coastal Plant Ecology and Restoration Ecology

Paul Klerks
Professor

Harold & Adele Comeaux/BoRSF Professor of Biology

Office : BLD 222-A
Office Phone : 337 482 6356
Lab : BLD 218
Lab Phone : 337 482 5152
E-mail : klerks@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Environmental Toxicology, Detoxification Mechanisms

Sherry Krayesky
Master Instructor

Office : BLD 103
Office Phone : 337 482 6754
E-mail : slk5014@louisiana.edu
 

Ritwij Kulkarni
Assistant Professor

Office : VLW 519
Office Phone : 337 482 6263
Lab : VLW 417
Lab Phone : 337 482
E-mail : ritwij@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:

Garrie P. Landry
Departmental Affiliate and Herbarium Curator

Botanist

McIlhenny Company
E-mail : cycad@louisiana.edu
 

Paul Leberg
Department Head, Professor

John E. and Joretta Achee Chance Professor of Biology

Office : VLW 518
Office Phone : 337 482 6637
Lab : VLW 528
Lab Phone : 337 482 1068
E-mail : leberg@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Population Biology of Vertebrates, Conservation Biology and Genetics

 

Betty Lemmon
Professor Emeritus

Office : BLD 142
Office Phone : 337 482 6987
E-mail : rcb@louisiana.edu
 

Rafael Lemaitre
Adjunct Faculty

Lead Scientist

MedImmune

Area of Research:
Systematics, taxomomy, zoogeography, and biology of decapod crustaceans, particularly Paguroidea (hermit crabs), worldwide.

Sondra D. Meyers
Administrative Assistant 3

Office : VLW 402
Office Phone : 337 482 6626
E-mail : sdm7944@louisiana.edu
 

Beth A. Middleton
Adjunct Faculty

Research Ecologist

USGS National Wetlands Research Center
E-mail : middletonb@usgs.gov

Area of Research:
Wetland plant ecology, and wetland restoration

Patricia L. Mire
Master Instructor, Adjunct Faculty

Office : BLD 111
Office Phone : 337 482 5237
Lab : BLD 110
E-mail : pmire@louisiana.edu
 

Area of Research:
Development and physiology of sensory systems

Brad Moon
Associate Professor

South Louisiana Mid-Winter Fair/BoRSF Professor of Pre-Veterinary Biology

Office : VLW 509
Office Phone : 337 482 5662
Lab : VLW 507
Lab Phone : 337 482 1375
E-mail : brad.moon@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Vertebrate Functional Morphology and Physiology, Muscle Structure and Function

Susan Mopper
Professor

Office : BLD 224
Office Phone : 337 482 6277
Lab : BLD 225
Lab Phone : 337 482 6527
E-mail : mop@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Ecology and Evolution of Insect-Plant Interactions

Joseph E. Neigel
Professor

Office : VLW 508
Office Phone : 337 482 5661
Lab : VLW 506
Lab Phone : 337 482 1258
E-mail : jneigel@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Molecular Evolution, Genetic Population Structure

James Nelson
Assistant Professor

Office : BLD 205-D
Office Phone : 337 482 6642
Lab : BLD 205-F
Lab Phone : 337 482 5231
E-mail : nelson@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Marine Ecosystem Ecology, Marine Fishes, Food Webs, Stable Isotope Analysis

James M. Norris
Adjunct Faculty

Research Scientist and Curator

Smithsonian Institution
National Museum of Natural History
Department of Botany

E-mail : norrisj@si.edu

Area of Research:
Systematics, taxonomy and evolutionary history of marine macroalgae

Kyle Patton
Instructor

Office : BLD 108G
Office Phone : 337 482 5236
E-mail : kjp3879@louisiana.edu
 

Thomas C. Pesacreta
Associate Professor

Director, ULL Microscopy Center

Office : BLD 134
Office Phone : 337 482 5233
Lab : BLD 137
Lab Phone : 337 482 5769
E-mail : thomas@louisiana.edu
 

Sophie Plouviez
Instructor, Instrument Coordinator, Data Scientist

Office : VLW 508B
Office Phone : 337-230-5698
E-mail : scp0643@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Molecular Evolution, Population Genetics/Genomics, Bioinformatics

Daniel J. Povinelli
Professor

Office : HH 108
Office Phone : 337 482 5073
E-mail : povinellli@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Evolution of Learning and Cognition

Kelly L. Robinson
Assistant Professor

Office : BLD 105
Office Phone : 337 482 5705
Lab: BLD 205
E-mail : kelly.robinson@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Zooplankton ecology; Climate Change; Marine Food Webs

Patricia E. Rosel
Adjunct Faculty

Research Scientist

NOAA National Marine Fisheries Service
E-mail : Patricia.Rosel@noaa.gov

Area of Research:
Population genetics and evolutionary histories of marine vertebrates

Lawrence P. Rozas
Adjunct Faculty

Research Scientist

NOAA National Marine Fisheries Service
E-mail : Lawrence.Rozas@noaa.gov

Area of Research:
Ecology of fishes and crustaceans, Predator-prey interactions of nekton

William E. Schmidt
Instructor

Office : VLW 524
Office Phone : 337 482 5057
E-mail : wes4500@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Red Algal Systematics and Biogeography, Plastid Genomes, Metagenomes and Rhodoliths

Erin M. Sigel
Assistant Professor

Office : BLD 104
Office Phone : 337 482 5153
Lab : BLD 248
Lab Phone : pending 
E-mail : erinsigel@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Evolutionary biology and plant systematics

Karen M. Smith
Assistant Professor

Office : VLW 514
Office Phone : 337 482 6755
Lab : VLW 512
Lab Phone : 337 482 1759
E-mail : karen.smith@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Neurobiology and development

Jeffrey H. Spring
Professor

Office : BLD 243
Office Phone : 337 482 5245
Lab : BLD 248
Lab Phone : 337 482 1085
E-mail : jhspring@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Control of Ion and Water Balance in Arthropods

Beth Stauffer
Assistant Professor

Office : BLD 234
Office Phone : 337 482 5232
Lab : BLD 120
Lab Phone : 337 482 6717
E-mail : stauffer@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Phytoplankton/Protistan Ecology, Coastal Water Quality Issues

Jennifer T. Thibodeaux
Administrative Assistant 3

Office : BLD 108
Office Phone : 337 482 5228
E-mail : jennyt@louisiana.edu
 

 

Michael Van Brocklin
Maintenance Repairer 2

Office : BLD 108
Office Phone : 337 482 6748
E-mail : Michael_Van_Brocklin@hotmail.com
 

Francois Villinger
Adjunct Faculty

Director of the New Iberia Research Center

Area of Research:
Immune response and vaccine development

Yi-Hong Wang
Associate Professor

Office : BLD 242
Office Phone : 337 482 6756
Lab : BLD 249
Lab Phone : 337 482 5229
E-mail : yxw9887@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Genetics and Biotechnology

Glen Watson
Professor, Associate Dean of the Ray P Authement College of Sciences

Office : VLW 530; 400
Office Phone : 337 482 6263
Lab : VLW 518
Lab Phone : 337 482 5667
E-mail : gmw5722@louisiana.edu

Area of Research:
Cellular and Developmental Biology of Sea Anemones